Sebring Ohio Historical Society
126 North 15th Street
Sebring, Ohio 44672
In April, 1898, work began on the factories, stores and homes that would
become known as "Sebring."  The Sebring brothers, their parents (
and Elizabeth), and their sisters each built beautiful homes.  
potteries at one time employed approximately 3,300 workers. The
Sebring pottery industry flourished for many years.  At one time Sebring was
known as the "Pottery Capital of The World."
From these beginnings Sebring has remained a small town.  Although only a
few pottery "decorating" firms still remain, other types of manufacturers have
located here. Sebring is hopeful that others will discover, as the Sebring
brothers did, that Sebring is "the most elevated and healthful tableland of our
Sebring, Ohio  was founded by the Sebring family from East Liverpool.
They owned and operated many
pottery businesses. The Sebring family
dreamed of building their own pottery town that would  stand as a
memorial to their work and ideals.  They decided upon an area in
Mahoning County, 80 miles west of Pittsburgh and five miles east of
Alliance.  They chose 200 acres of farmland near the Mahoning River that
was near a railroad line.  Later, a 160 acre tract was added.   Articles of
Incorporation were filed in  1899.

The Strand Theatre building was donated to the Society by Greg New in
1990.    The theatre is used as a museum and for exhibition space.  In
2003, the Strand Theatre marquee was restored to circa 1940's and the
building obtained a new roof.  Starting in 2003, after a generous donation
from Lynne and Dennis Biery and  years of fund raising and personal
donations, the inside of the building was renovated into a museum that
now showcases Sebring's Pottery and local history.
membership is now at about 225.  With the support of the community,
we have a  wonderful museum emphasizing our pottery heritage.
© 2008-16
Web design by
Cindy Christani
The Society recently acquired the historical
building next to the Strand.  It is our goal to
renovate and preserve this beautiful turn of the
century building.  
Organizations like ours can only achieve our
goals with fund raisers and the assistance of
donations from members of our community.
Since our organization relies on the generosity
of individuals and businesses, please consider
a donation to our renovation fund.  Our plan is
to first replace the roof.  We have set a goal to
raise $5,000 this fall.  We hope that you will
help support our efforts.
Our Founders, the Sebring Brothers
Frank A.                Oliver        George    William     Ellsworth      Fred
1865-1936        1857-1929    1859-1927 1869-1904 1862-1937 1868-1925
Raffle limited to
300 tickets-
to get yours, call
Don Schreckengost Bicentennial Salem China Cup:  A 23-carat
gold band encircles the top and base of the cup.  Two flags
dramatically represent the separation of the original 13 colonies from
England.  A careful reproduction of the signatures of the Declaration
of Independence surround the outside.  Two eagles, sculpted in
gold, stand protectively on each side of the cup.  Officials at the
Smithsonian Institution in Washington, DC, were so impressed by
Don's handiwork that the first cup was chosen for the Smithsonian's
permanent bicentennial collection. Numbered 710 of 750